God wrote a song… And I wanted you to hear it too.

We walked down pathways carpeted with the golden leaves of aspens. It was so beautiful we could almost imagine we were walking on the very streets of the new Jerusalem. The wind rushed through in a glorious song, making the brown grass dance to the beauty of it all. Cold crept into our faces and made our noses red. We trudged up and up through bright pathways until we reached the summit.

The valley lay before us, a symphony of colors, singing it’s song for the whole world to hear… But no one was there to see it but us. The mountain stood mighty and tall. I like to think of the many years it’s stood there. Through storms, and wars, and lifetimes. But still it stands. It reminds me of the constance of God. My soul is comforted.

Just like it says in Isaiah, the trees clapped there hands. Every single golden one of them.

Oh…. It was beautiful. And it is beautiful!

My momma took me up to see this aspens today because she had seen them a couple of days ago, and said I simply couldn’t miss them.

“God wrote a song, Joy! And I wanted you to hear it too!”, she told me, while chomping on apples and potato chips on a rock at the summit. And as we hiked through the mountains, I knew what she meant. I simply couldn’t take in all the beauty. It was like God had painted this masterpeice, composed this symphony… And at the top of the mountain, my mom and I got to hear it. It seems sometimes like we just simply don’t notice. We drive around in our little cars, listen to our music, think our thoughts… and we never notice that there is a tangible real holy God who created the starts in the heavens, the mighty mountains, the falling leaves…

If I could encourage you in anything today.. I would say this… LISTEN! God’s speaking!

If you ever doubt God’s existence, go out into His wild and wait. There, in the quiet and stillness and wildness you will know He is real. As it says in Romans 1:20…

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.”

Creation cries out that he is real and true.

I pray that today, you may know his true beauty. That in his magnificent creation… you will feel His divine breath against you. To truly know His reality. His Glory.


This is my… ahem…. windblown look

My and my cutest of all mommas…. all bundled up. πŸ™‚

Blessings.

love.

Joyness

13 thoughts on “God wrote a song… And I wanted you to hear it too.

  1. How beautiful, Joy! You make me miss my daughter very much.

    I am visiting here for the first time (through your mom’s link) and you have created a wonderful online home.

    I can’t wait to see how God fills the pages of the book that is YOU.

  2. I love your windblown look!! I absolutely adore the mountains and trees and beautiful scenery, because just like you said – when I walk amongst it I become in awe of the amazing God who made it, and He does speak to me more when I walk outside than at any other time. And it also comforts my soul. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

  3. You two are precious. Joy, you are so right. Creation is full of His glory! There is a beautiful video from clips of the movie/documentary “Planet Earth” set to the song “Creation Calls” that reminds me well of this. Here is the link in case you have never heard it. It is magnificent!

    Blessings! I will see your sweet mama at Relevant in a few weeks. She is a gift, Joy! πŸ™‚

  4. Hello, Joy-lass! I’m visiting from your mama’s blog, and am thoroughly delighted to meet you. I’d read your mother’s blog and Sarah’s blog and then wish you had one too, for your joyous, impish nature shines though their mentions of you. Always lovely to meet another young girl who is deeply passionate about coffee, chocolate, books, and God!

    P.S. I agree with Rhoda – I love your windblown look! You look darling. πŸ™‚

  5. Joy, Me-three love your wind blown look! I enjoy your mom’s blog and am so encouraged by yours too! Thanks for sharing your heart ties with your momma from your perspective.
    May God continue to bless you richly as you revel in His creation and His love for you!

  6. Hi Joy!!

    Wow, I wish I lived in Colorado. It is so beautiful!! I am so glad I finally discovered your blog. My mom reads your mom’s blog all the time and I have met you a couple times at your parent’s mom conferences. (Wow, i said mom three times in that sentence) Well, talk to you later!

    Emily

  7. Thank you for sharing your heart and touching mine. After a week off of school with my boys, we start back for the next 6 weeks tomorrow. My head was spinning tonite as I thought of all I must do and all I’m not doing and…. Thank you for causing me to pause, breathe and remember what is important. Bless you sweet Joy!

  8. You are a blessing, Joy! What beautiful writing and what a heart for God! I hope you will find more time to share here. We’ll be reading!

    Enjoyed your Jonah day post as well.

Leave a Reply

